Biography

WENDY JENSEN

My name is Wendy Jensen. When I first started this blog, I was apprehensive about using my real name for articles. But now, I’ve come to a point in my life where I’m okay with what I put out on this blog. This blog started off as a personal space to vent. But it has changed so much over the past year and I really want this site to grow. My purpose here is to share my fitness goals, and challenges I face along the way.


Background

I was born and raised in Edmonton, AB, Canada. Our upbringing was fairly “normal” or “average”. My parents stayed happily married until my mom passed away in 2014. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of her or miss her. It was one of the reasons I started this blog. I wanted an outlet to share my grief. My father is almost 80 years old. He is in the late stages of Parkinsons. I try to spend as much time with him as possible.

I come from a large family – there are 19 of us (I think) when we all get together. That’s just my siblings and the grandkids. There are lots of kids in the family. And one grand-nephew who just makes my heart melt.

For me, I do not have kids. This is not a possibility. I speak often about women’s health issues, including PCOS – which is one of the reasons I cannot have children. It’s also a big reason why I choose to live alone and am single for now. I may date one day. But the gist of this blog is cooking and single living. Why ruin a good thing?

The other reason I don’t feel comfortable dating at the moment is my weight. Because of the PCOS, weight has always been a struggle. But more so in the last two years. Due to work stress and being unwell, I gained 30 pounds. I’m currently working on taking the weight off – but it’s so slow going. You can read more about my journey – head on over to my fitness page.


Music

Music has been a part of my life for nearly forty years. I was a toddler when I sat at the organ for the first time. Look. Here’s proof. As a product of the late 70’s, I was born way before we had smart phones and computers to teach us how to play instruments.

Somehow, I taught myself how to read sheet music. My parents put me in piano lessons when I was in the second grade. I studied classical piano until 1995 when I graduated from high school. That same year, I won first place in the Edmonton Kiwanis Music Festival for a solo performance of “Time in a Bottle”, by Jim Cocre.

I started composing instrumental music back in 2008 with my old digital piano. I picked up a copy of Cubase PRO in 2013 and haven’t looked back. I’m not on version 10.5. I’m still learning about composition and feel as though I’ve come a long way in the craft.

My dream is to compose music for film. Or even be a music producer and select music for soundtracks. I have a passion for movies and film. What a dream that would be.

You can find my music on Youtube, Spotify, Apple Music and more. But don’t confuse me with the other Wendy Jensen. Youtube is always mixing us up. I do not compose kids songs.

Check out my music page here.


Ansgar Danish Church

In 2005, I was asked to play the organ for our family church. I’ll write more about this later. But I won a full scholarship and have played for Sunday services for fifteen years. I’ve also done a lot of weddings, baptisms, fundraiser concerts, benefits and of course – funerals.

With playing for funerals and losing friends at the church, that also comes with grief. A lot of grief. And I write about that sometimes too.

Visit the official website to learn more about Ansgar – http://www.ansgar.ca


Danish Heritage

I call myself a “mutt” which is self-deprecating – but also kind of true. My father’s family is from Denmark. The family is Danish traced back about 250 years. My mother family on the other hand – very European with hints of African and, 2% Neanderthal! We have some French, Irish and German in our roots. My mother was born in London, England – and her mother Violet, was also English. My grandfather John O’Connor, was of course, Irish.

One of the reasons I’ve stayed at the church so long is that I love learning about my Danish heritage. And getting fed free Danish food now and then is an added bonus. I’m seriously missing my Ansgar family right now.


Professional Background

My professional background is wide and varied. I started off working in retail after I graduated from high school in the 90’s. I worked in a liquor store for three years before going to college in 97. I took a six month computer course and learned things like Word and Excel.

I took my first secretarial job at Gordon Price Music which was a family run music store. I rediscovered my love of music during this time and got to meet famous musicians like Joe Perry and Chris Martin (briefly). After three years of being “just a receptionist” – I moved downtown and joined a temp agency.

Since 2004, I have been working in the public sector in various adminsitrative jobs. I’ve done it all. From being a receptionist, to an executive assistant in a Deputy Minister’s office. I spent two years in Alberta Health, four years at Addictions and Mental Health, one year at AADAC (addictions), two years at NorQuest College and most recently, four years at Children’s Services working in Indigenous and stakeholder engagement.

I had to leave my current position due to health issues stemming from smudging in the office. I’m now in between jobs and on the road to recovery. Trying to figure out where to go next in life. I’m looking into courses I can do online – my passion is communications (obviously) and music. I’ll be returning to work in the fall – whatever that might look like. So, I have a few months to figure things out.

After nearly 20 years working in the administrative field, I’m ready for a change. And of course, a better paycheck.


Interests

Cooking! This is something I got into a few years ago. I love trying new foods and experimenting with different recipes. You can head over to my What’s Cooking page to learn more.

Graphic design and digital art are two things I enjoy doing when I need a break from music. I also love photography and travel but don’t get to do enough of this. I’m also a huge movie buff. And can spend hours watching movies – or just listening to music on Spotify.

Like I’m doing now as I’m writing this. I curate playlists and have about 30 of them going!

Well, I think that should do it for this page! Thanks for reading – if you made it this far! Please consider donating to help fund future music projects and studio upgrades. Thanks for joining me on this journey!

Wendy Jensen


Contact